Do you need to domesticate and serve an out of state subpoena in California?
Effective January 1, 2010, new laws and mandatory forms relating to service of Subpoenas in California for cases pending in states other than California.
Please see applicable filing fees and a list of the mandatory forms with a link to the California Judicial Council website where the forms may be found and filled in online.
Service rules and completion dates of service for the subpoenas may be different from the requirements of your state and the client needs to fill out the necessary forms.
To issue and serve a subpoena we need the following for each:
$45.00 filing fee, payable to “Superior Court.”
Copy of the issued foreign subpoena from the other state.
Completed Application on the Mandatory Form, SUBP-030.
A $15.00 witness fee is required at the time of service for all Production of Business Records subpoenas in California.
All Personal Appearance Subpoenas are entitled to witness fees in the state of California.
Due to the rapidly changing nature of the law, there may be times when the material on this page is not current. We have made every effort to provide a complete and accurate list of rules governing the service of process in New Jersey. However, that we cannot guarantee the current accuracy of the above listed content, it is provided for general information purposes only and is not intended as legal advice. We assume no liability whatsoever and will not be held responsible directly or indirectly for any damages resulting from any errors, omissions, inaccuracies or your reliance on this partial list of rules.